You may have noticed a new feature in your Google Drive called Team Drives. Team Drives are shared spaces where your team can store files and guarantee that every member has the most up-to-date information.
The best feature of Team Drives is that if a document’s owner moves teams or leaves the University, the document doesn’t go with them so your team doesn’t lose access.
Team Drives make onboarding easy, because every person and Google Group added to a Team Drive gets instant access to that team’s documents. You can also give team members different levels of access, either for the whole drive or for individual docs.
Deleted files are also moved to the Team Drive bin, meaning they can be easily recovered. Files that haven’t been recovered are permanently deleted after 30 days.
Team Drive themes also let you customise the space to suit your team.
To set up your Team Drive, click Team Drives under My Drive. Name your Team Drive, then click on to add members. Manage access controls by clicking on the arrow next to your Team Drive’s name and click Manage members.